A post on X from the account @sudanwarmonitor, quoting an Arabic-language report attributed to the United Nations, says civilians were killed in drone strikes that hit a market and residential homes in Sudan. The entry is dated 22 October 2026 at 10:19 UTC. The post does not specify the town, state, or number of dead. The attribution to the UN rests on the wording of the post itself, whose headline reads roughly as 'UN: civilians killed in drone strikes targeting a market and homes', followed by a link. The report does not identify who operated the drones. The underlying UN statement was not included in the data, so the casualty claim and the timing of the strikes cannot be independently checked from this entry alone.
Sudan has been in open armed conflict since April 2023, when fighting broke out between the Sudanese Armed Forces and the Rapid Support Forces. The war has spread well beyond Khartoum into Darfur, Kordofan and other regions. Drones have become a recurring part of that fighting, and both sides have been widely reported to use them, including for strikes far from front lines. Markets and residential areas are especially sensitive because they are dense with civilians and tend to draw the strongest international attention when hit. The related-events list for this entry is empty, so it cannot be placed within a sequence of other incidents on Intel Mapper, and no pattern can be confirmed here. Operationally, a strike on a market and homes, if confirmed, would more often be consistent with imprecise targeting or a broad strike package than with a narrowly aimed attack on a military objective, though this cannot be determined from the available information. Analysts usually look for corroboration from local monitors, hospital records, satellite imagery of damage, and statements from the forces involved before drawing firmer conclusions about intent or responsibility.
The entry rests on a single channel: an X account, @sudanwarmonitor, which reproduced an Arabic-language post attributed to the United Nations. No second outlet, UN publication, or local source is linked in the data, so cross-confirmation is absent. The confidence score of 6.0 reflects one source, a secondhand attribution to the UN, and missing location, operator, and casualty details. It would rise if the original UN statement or a release from OCHA or the UN human rights office were located and matched the wording, or if independent outlets, local monitors, or hospitals reported the same strikes. It would fall if the UN statement could not be found or if the post was recycling an earlier incident.
The location is recorded only as Sudan, with the specific place not reported. The coordinates carry region-level precision and low location confidence, so the point is an approximate regional placement in central Sudan, roughly within the Kordofan belt, rather than a settlement or facility. Treat it as an area marker, not the site of the market or homes. Kordofan is largely rural, with scattered towns, road networks and seasonal watercourses, so the actual strike site could lie many kilometres from the plotted point.
▶ View this event on the live map
Intel Mapper aggregates open-source reports from monitored Telegram and X channels, geolocates them, cross-checks duplicates across sources and assigns a confidence score. Entries are updated as new confirmations arrive. Read how we verify events.